City of Beaverton
How Do I …
Apply for a Building Permit (click to expand)
To apply for a building permit, you must fill out the form below and bring it to be approved by the Zoning Administrator. Once the approval process is completed, you will receive your permit and you will be able to proceed with the construction.
In the event that any required information is missing from the application, it will be denied until the information is provided.
Purchase a Cemetery Plot (click to expand)
To purchase a plot, come into City Hall and ask for a map of the cemetery. Janelle Keen will provide the information required to locate a grave plot and will give you availability based on what plots you are interested in. All plot purchases are final, the City will not buy back the plot once purchased.
Apply for Deferment of Summer Taxes (click to expand)
Fill out and file this application with the City Treasurer. You may file your intent to defer before September 15, or before the date your summer taxes are due, whichever is later. Do NOT file this application with the Michigan Department of Treasury. Though filing this form is voluntary, your tax due date will not be extended unless this form is filed. The local treasurer may require additional documentation to verify your claim.
Apply for a Dog License (click to expand)
To apply for a dog license, you must contact Gladwin County Animal Shelter.
All dogs in Gladwin County must have a current rabies certificate and be licensed. Licenses must be renewed annually. Dog licenses may be purchased at regular price at the Animal Shelter, in the Treasurer’s office, and at participating township and city offices; from November 1st until the end of February (the City of Beaverton is not a participating city office). As of March 1st, tags are available only from the Animal Shelter and Treasurer’s office and are delinquent, subject to the delinquent tag fee (except for puppies which may be licensed at the regular fee.) You must present a current rabies certificate to purchase any dog license.
Submit a FOIA Request (click to expand)
A FOIA request is used to gain information that is open to the public. The information that is available to the public is outlined in the Michigan Freedom of Information Act.
The outline of procedures is located in the City Ordinances PDF. Click on Procedures and Guidelines in the Table of Contents to go directly to this section.
Procedures & Guidelines
This outlines what the city is responsible for and how the city should proceed in the event of a request.
The request will be reviewed, then approved or denied, based on the guidelines provided by the State of Michigan. The council will issue a response within 10 business days of receiving the request. Each FOIA Request is billed based on time spent acquiring the information and time spent copying the information for the request. Guidelines on how the request is billed is outlined in the procedures and guidelines.
Apply for a Garage Sale Permit (click to expand)
To apply for a Garage, Rummage or Yard Sale Permit, please complete the form by clicking on the link below. Bring the completed form along with a $5 application fee to City Hall.
For more information, see the full garage sale ordinance in the City Ordinances PDF. Click on Yard Sales in the Table of Contents to go directly to this section.
Apply for Hardship Exemption (click to expand)
To apply for the exemption, you must completely fill out the form below and turn it in before the last day of board review. Fill out the form and bring it to City Hall. It will go to the Board of Review and it will be reviewed and then voted on. The decision can be appealed by written letter to Michigan Tax Tribunal at P.O. Box 30232, Lansing, MI 48909 | Phone: 517.373.3003 | Fax: 517.373.1633.
Rent a Pavilion (click to expand)
Visit our Parks & Recreation page for a map of the park and locations of pavilions.
The pavilion rates are as follows:
- Ross Lake Pavilion A – – – – – – – – $50.00
- Ross Lake Pavilion B – – – – – – – – $50.00
- Ross Lake Pavilion C – – – – – – – – $60.00
- Calhoun Campground Pavilion – – – $55.00
- Leo Ross Park Pavilion – – – – – – No Charge
The availability of the pavilions will vary. Please call City of Beaverton at 989.435.3511 to check availability and to rent. We do allow rentals one year out from the current date.
Pay Property Taxes (click to expand)
Taxes are billed every summer and winter.
Summer taxes become due and payable on July 1st. You have until September to pay them without penalty.
Winter taxes become due on December 1st. You have until February 28th to pay property taxes to the City of Beaverton, after February 28th all prior year payments must go to the Gladwin County Treasurers office.
To pay your taxes, bring cash, a check or money order to City Hall before the due date. All payments should be made out to the City of Beaverton and brought to City Hall prior to 4:30 pm on the day it’s due. You can leave payments in the drop box or mail them to P.O. Box 477, Beaverton, MI 48612. If you submit your payment using those methods your bill is required to be enclosed with your payment.
The City does not accept cash payments through the drop box and will not be liable for lost cash in the drop box or mail. The City will not accept a post mark as a payment date, the payments must be received by city hall before close on the last day of payments.
Pay a Water / Sewer Bill (click to expand)
The City of Beaverton bills water bi-monthly. Water bills are due before close of day on the 21st of every even month. If the 21st falls on a weekend or a city paid holiday the due date will be extended to the next regular business day. There will be a 10% charge on any overdue balance. If the bill is not paid, you will be charged a $25 fee for the hand delivery of your water bill. If your bill is not paid by the date on the hand delivered notice, the water will be shut off and you will be charged a $25 shut off fee. To have the water turned back on, you must pay your outstanding balance plus a $25 turn on fee.
Accepted forms of payment include:
- Money Order
For all Credit and Debit transactions there will be a convenience fee applied at the time of the payment. The fee is 3% of the transaction amount or $2.00 whichever is greater.
If you cannot come into City Hall during business hours, you may put your check or money order in the drop box or you may mail the payment to P.O. Box 477, Beaverton, MI 48612. Do not put cash in the drop box or in the mail, the City of Beaverton will not be responsible if it is lost or stolen. The City does not accept post marks or past dated checks as proof of on time payment. If City Hall does not receive the payment prior to 4:30 pm on the 21st of the even month, the payment will be considered late. Please plan accordingly.
Apply for a Peddlers Permit (click to expand)
To apply for a peddler’s permit, fill out the form and bring it to City Hall with the requested information. The prices of a license are as follows:
- One Day: $10.00
- Two Day: $15.00
- Three Day: $20.00
- One Week: $25.00
- One Month: $75.00
The license will not be granted until the application has been accepted by the Chief of Police, Sheriff, or City Marshall, and the City Treasurer.
Apply for a Property Transfer Affidavit (click to expand)
This form must be filed whenever real estate or some types of personal property are transferred (even if you are not recording a deed). The completed Affidavit must be filed by the new owner with the assessor for the city or township where the property is located within 45 days of the transfer. The information on this form is NOT CONFIDENTIAL. Bring the completed form to City Hall, where it will be filed to the City Assessor. Detailed instructions are provided below.
This form must be filed when there is a transfer of real property or one of the following types of personal property:
- Buildings on leased land.
- Leasehold improvements, as defined in MCL Section 211.8(h).
- Leasehold estates, as defined in MCL Section 211.8(i) and (j).
Transfer of ownership means the conveyance of title to or a present interest in property, including the beneficial use of the property. For complete descriptions of qualifying transfers, please refer to MCL Section 211.27a(6)(a-j).
Excerpts from Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL), Chapter 211
**Section 211.27a(7)(d): Beginning December 31, 2014, a transfer of that portion of residential real property that had been subject to a life estate or life lease retained by the transferor resulting from expiration or termination of that life estate or life lease, if the transferee is the transferor’s or transferor’s spouse’s mother, father, brother, sister, son, daughter, adopted son, adopted daughter, grandson, or granddaughter and the residential real property is not used for any commercial purpose following the transfer. Upon request by the department of treasury or the assessor, the transferee shall furnish proof within 30 days that the transferee meets the requirements of this subdivision. If a transferee fails to comply with a request by the department of treasury or assessor under this subdivision, that transferee is subject to a fine of $200.00.
*Section 211.27a(7)(u): Beginning December 31, 2014, a transfer of residential real property if the transferee is the transferor’s or the transferor’s spouse’s mother, father, brother, sister, son, daughter, adopted son, adopted daughter, grandson, or granddaughter and the residential real property is not used for any commercial purpose following the conveyance. Upon request by the department of treasury or the assessor, the transferee shall furnish proof within 30 days that the transferee meets the requirements of this subparagraph. If a transferee fails to comply with a request by the department of treasury or assessor under this subparagraph, that transferee is subject to a fine of $200.00.
Section 211.27a(10): “… the buyer, grantee, or other transferee of the property shall notify the appropriate assessing office in the local unit of government in which the property is located of the transfer of ownership of the property within 45 days of the transfer of ownership, on a form prescribed by the state tax commission that states the parties to the transfer, the date of the transfer, the actual consideration for the transfer, and the property’s parcel identification number or legal description.”
Section 211.27(5): “Except as otherwise provided in subsection (6), the purchase price paid in a transfer of property is not the presumptive true cash value of the property transferred. In determining the true cash value of transferred property, an assessing officer shall assess that property using the same valuation method used to value all other property of that same classification in the assessing jurisdiction.”
Section 211.27b(1): “If the buyer, grantee, or other transferee in the immediately preceding transfer of ownership of property does not notify the appropriate assessing office as required by section 27a(10), the property’s taxable value shall be adjusted under section 27a(3) and all of the following shall be levied:
- Any additional taxes that would have been levied if the transfer of ownership had been recorded as required under this act from the date of transfer.
- Interest and penalty from the date the tax would have been originally levied.
- For property classified under section 34c as either industrial real property or commercial real property, a penalty in the following amount:
(i) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (ii), if the sale price of the property transferred is $100,000,000.00 or less, $20.00 per day for each separate failure beginning after the 45 days have elapsed, up to a maximum of $1,000.00. (ii) If the sale price of the property transferred is more than $100,000,000.00, $20,000.00 after the 45 days have elapsed.
(d) For real property other than real property classified under section 34c as industrial real property or commercial real property, a penalty of $5.00 per day for each separate failure beginning after the 45 days have elapsed, up to a maximum of $200.00.
Apply for a Principal Residence Exemption Affidavit (click to expand)
Fill out this form and return it to City Hall where it will be filed. Below is a general instruction and information.
Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) exempts a principal residence from the tax levied by a local school district for operating purposes, up to 18 mills.
Principal residence means the dwelling that you own and occupy as your permanent home and any unoccupied adjoining or contiguous properties that are classified residential or timber-cut over.
Owners are defined in MCL 211.7dd(a). Only the owner listed in MCL 211.7dd(a) are eligible to claim the exemption.
Occupying means this is your principal residence, the place that you reside in as your permanent residence and if absent intend to return. It should be the address that appears on your driver’s license and voter registration card. Vacation homes, seasonal homes, and income property are not occupied as your principal residence and may not be claimed.
Claiming a PRE: To claim a PRE, complete this Affidavit and file it with your township or city of the year of the claim. A valid affidavit filed on or before June 1 allows an owner to receive a PRE on the current year summer and winter tax levy and subsequent tax levies so long as it remains the owner’s principal residence. A valid affidavit filed after June 1 and on or before November 1 allows an owner to receive a PRE on the current winter tax levy and subsequent tax levies so long as it remains the owner’s principal residence.
MCL 211.7cc(3) Disqualifications: An owner is ineligible to claim a PRE if any of the disqualifying factors apply listed in MCL 211.7cc(3).
RESCINDING YOUR EXEMPTION
Within 90 days of when you no longer own or occupy the property as a principal residence, you must complete and file a Request to Rescind Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) (Form 2602) or file a Conditional Rescission (Form 4640) with your township or city assessor. Failure to do so may subject you to additional tax plus penalties and interest as determined under the General Property Tax Act.
INTEREST AND PENALTY
If it is determined that you claimed property that is not your principal residence, you may be subject to the additional tax plus penalty and interest as determined under the General Property Tax Act.
Lines not listed here are explained on the form.
You must complete each line in its entirety. Failure to complete any of the lines may result in your claim being denied.
PART 1: PROPERTY INFORMATION
Submit a separate affidavit for each property tax identification number being claimed.
Line 1: It is important that your property tax identification number is entered accurately. This ensures that your property is identified properly and that your township or city can accurately adjust your property taxes. You can find this number on your tax bill and on your property tax assessment notice. If you cannot find this number, call your township or city assessor.
NOTE: Do not include information for a co-owner who does not occupy the property as a principal residence.
Line 6: Please list the last four digits of your Social Security Number (SSN). The request for the last four digits of your SSN is authorized under Section 42 USC 405 (c) (2) (C) (i). It is used by the Department of Treasury to verify tax exemption claims and to deter fraudulent filings.
Line 12: If you own and occupy the entire property as a principal residence, you may claim a 100 percent exemption. If you own and live in a multi-unit or multi-purpose property (e.g., a duplex or apartment building, or a storefront with an upstairs flat), you can only claim a partial exemption based on that portion that you use as a principal residence. Please consult your local assessor to determine the percentage of the exemption the owner is allowed to claim in these situations.
If the parcel of property you are claiming has more than one home on it, you must determine the percentage that you own and occupy as your principal residence. A second residence on the same property (e.g., a mobile home or second house) is not part of your principal residence, even if it is not rented to another person. Your local assessor can tell you the assessed value of each residence to help you determine the percentage that is your principal residence. Please consult your local assessor to determine the percentage of the exemption the owner is allowed to claim in these situations.
If you rent part of your home to another person, you may have to prorate your exemption. If your home is a single-family dwelling and less than 50 percent of your home is rented to others who use it as a residence, you may claim a 100 percent exemption. If 50 percent or more is rented to others who use it as a residence or if part of the home was converted to an apartment with a separate entrance, you must calculate the percentage that is your principal residence by dividing the floor area of your principal residence by the floor area of the entire building.
PART 2: CERTIFICATION
Sign and date the form. Enter your mailing address if it is different from the address under Part 1.
Mail your completed form to the township or city assessor where the property is located. This address may be on your most recent tax bill or assessment notice. DO NOT send this form directly to the Department of Treasury.
If you have any questions contact your local assessor or the PRE Unit of the Michigan Department of Treasury at 517.373.1950, or visit www.michigan.gov/PRE.
Apply for a Sign Permit (click to expand)
To apply for a sign permit the following information is required:
- A scale drawing (2” = 1’) showing:
- Dimensions of sign
- Information to be on the sign
- Total number of Existing Signs, including sizes and locations
- Pictures and/or other graphics, if available
- If a Free-Standing sign, include sign dimensions and construction material description
- For signs attached to a building, provide a drawing showing the building, location of windows, doorways & location on the building where the sign is to be erected
- For freestanding signs, attach a lot plan drawing showing size of lot, location of building(s) on property, location of driveways, sidewalks, roadways, and proposed location of sign
- If the sign is to be illuminated, please describe the type of lighting
Fill out the form below and bring it to City Hall with the $25 application fee. Once the application is reviewed, you will be notified if it has been approved or denied.
In the event that any required information is missing from the application, it will be denied until the information is provided.
Apply for a State Tax Commission Affidavit for Disabled Veterans Exemption (click to expand)
This form is to be used to apply for an exemption of property taxes under MCL 211.7b, for real property used and owned as a homestead by a disabled veteran who was discharged from the armed forces of the United States under honorable conditions or his or her unremarried surviving spouse. The property owner, or his or her legal designee, must annually file the Affidavit with the supervisor or assessing officer any time after December 31 and before, or until the conclusion of, the December Board of Review.
Please feel free to contact us with any “HOW DO I” suggestions, we will be adding more and more every day!
Beaverton is a vibrant community with a friendly small-town atmosphere; offering year-round events. Beaverton remains a walkable city with a strong sense of community that is seldom found in this busy world. Come share the beauty, charm and history of Beaverton.
128 Saginaw St., P.O. Box 477, Beaverton, MI 48612
City Hall Office Hours
Monday - Thursday: 7:30 am - 6:00 pm
Friday - Sunday: Closed